The European Brain Council is pleased to announce that a new Board of Directors officially started its mandate at the end of 2022 and as of the first Board Meeting of 2023, held last week on 8 February, elected an Executive Committee to guide the work going forward.

EBC is pleased to introduce you to our full Board here, and to share the outcomes of the Election:


Professor Suzanne Dickson
Neurobiologist and Professor of Neuroendocrinology at the University of Gothenburg, Sweden; Secretary and Executive Board member of the European College for Neuropsychopharmacology (ECNP)


Professor Claudio Bassetti
Professor and Chair of neurology at the University Hospital in Bern, Switzerland and a previous President of the European Academy of Neurology

Professor Juan Lerma
Chief Editor of Neuroscience, Director of the Cajal International Neuroscience Center CSIC and Past Secretary General of the Federation of European Neuroscience Societies (FENS)


Dr Orla Galvin
Executive Director of the European Federation of Neurological Associations (EFNA)

Full biographies of the EBC Board and Executive Committee can be read here.

This meant that as of 2023, we bid farewell to three outgoing Executive Members, who gave their time to EBC over the last years: Professor Wolfgang Oertel, EBC Past President; Joke Jaarsma, EBC Past Treasurer; and Professor Wolfgang Gaebel, EBC Past Vice-President. On behalf of EBC and it’s member organizations, we thank them very much for their dedication over the last years and look forward to continued collaboration in the future.