EBC Executive

Prof Wolfgang H. Oertel


Prof. Oertel is Hertie-Senior- Research-Professor (2014-2022), Professor for Neurology and former Chairman (1996-2014) at the Dept. Neurology, Philipps University Marburg, Germany.

Prof. Oertel has served as president (2007-2011) of the German Parkinson Society (DPG), as board member (2009-2014) and president (2011-2012) of the German Society for Neurology, treasurer (2001-2002) of the International Movement Disorder Society (MDS), chairperson (2007-2009) of the European section of MDS and president (2013-2015) of the International REM-Sleep Behaviour Disorder Study Group, an organization he founded in 2009. He is treasurer of the European Restless Legs Syndrome (RLS) Study group (2014-2017). He coordinates the European Affairs Sub-committee (EASC) of the European Academy of Neurology (EAN). Since 2015 he is member of the high level advisory group “Scientific Panel for Health (SPH)” to the European Commissioner for “Research and Innovation”.

Prof. Oertel’s main field of scientific interest are neurodégénérative disorders such as Alzheimer dementia, Parkinson’s disease (PD) and related disorders. In parallel he also keeps a strong interest in RLS. He has reviewed over 750 scientific publications.

Full bio here

Prof Wolfgang Gaebel


Dr. med. Wolfgang Gaebel is Professor of Psychiatry, former Director of the Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy at the Heinrich-Heine University, Düsseldorf (Germany), and Head of the LVR-Klinikum Düsseldorf. He is Director of the WHO Collaborating Centre on Quality Management and Empowerment in Mental Health. From 2014 to 2016 he was also Founding Director of the LVR-Institute for Mental Healthcare Research in Düsseldorf. Prof. Gaebel was President of the DGPPN (1995/6 and 2007/8) and of the EPA (2015/6). He is chairing the WPA Sections on Schizophrenia and on Quality Assurance. His research focus is on schizophrenia, including psychopathological and pharmacological aspects, treatment guidelines, destigmatisation, quality management, and the development of DSM-5 and ICD-11. He was a member of the WHO International Advisory Group for the Revision of ICD-10 Mental and Behavioural Disorders, chaired the ICD-11 working group on Psychotic Disorders, and is a member of the WHO FIC Medical Scientific Advisory Committee for ICD-11. Prof. Gaebel is a member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. In 2020 he received as lifetime award the Wilhelm-Griesinger Medal of the DGPPN.

Prof Juan Lerma


Dr. Juan Lerma is a Professor at the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC). His research is related to the molecular basis of neuronal communication, specifically the mechanisms used by glutamate and its receptors in synaptic transmission and plasticity to orchestrate fundamental physiological activities and trigger brain diseases when they are deregulated. He has been Director of the Institute of Neurosciences CSIC-UMH; President of the Spanish Society of Neuroscience (SENC); President of the Pan-European Regional Committee of the International Brain Research Organisation (IBRO) and Secretary General of the Federation of European Neuroscience Societies (FENS). Currently, he is Editor-in-Chief of Neuroscience, Director of the Cajal International Neuroscience Centre (CINC-CSIC) and Councilor of the Society for Neuroscience (SfN).

Joke Jaarsma - Treasurer

Joke Jaarsma


Joke Jaarsma is EBC Treasurer and President of the European Federation of Neurological Associations (EFNA). In 2009 she started the European Alliance for Restless Legs Syndrome, an organization which now represents all major European patient groups for RLS. She still works with them as Director of External Relations. Furthermore, she also is a member of several scientific panels at the European Academy of Neurology.

In her working life, Joke Jaarsma was senior publisher at one of the major science publishers. She joined the Dutch Restless Legs Syndrome (RLS) patient association in 1999, and she is still active as Vice President of the Dutch group.

Having finished full-time paid employment, she decided to spend her retirement in helping give neurology patients a strong and collective voice.

In Memoriam